Lucky No. 14 Reading Challenge

Dan saya akhirnya memulai untuk mengikuti book challenge yang ada di blog. Selama ini saya hanya mengisi waktu sambil mengisi blog dan memberikan randow review tentang buku-buku yang saya baca. Lalu terpikir, kalau ada komunitas yang suka membaca, kenapa gak sekalian ikutan saja. And here I am, trapped in pile of my old books and prepared to ready to face the Lucky no. 14 Reading Challenge! Thanks to her (Astrid) gave me another spirit to review my favorite books.

Untuk ikutan challenge ini, saya harus memilih 14 buku yang bisa memiliki 14 kategori yang berbeda yang sudah ditetapkan empunya Challenge. And I need to make a little bit point about what books that I choose

Here are the 14 categories:

1. Visit The Country:

Tokyo Zodiac Murder by Soji Shimada

Tokyo Zodiac Murder by Soji Shimada

Tokyo Zodiac Murders: Detective Mitarai’s Casebook‘ by Soji Shimada
Japan, matte ne!

2. Cover Lust:

Larasati - Pramoedya Ananta Toer

Larasati – Pramoedya Ananta Toer

‘Larasati’ by Pramoedya Ananta Toer

Well, I was intrigued by both the cover and the title. Kenapa dan ada apa dengan Larasati? The one and only book from Pramoedya that I bought without searching any references of it. Kira-kira apakah Larasati itu wanita di depan covernya?

3. Blame it on Bloggers:

The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat - Oliver Sacks

The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat – Oliver Sacks

‘The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat’ by Olive Shacks

Entah kenapa begitu tertarik untuk membacanya begitu tau kontennya yang unik berdasarkan blog Annisa. Buku non-fiksi ini mengangkat tema tentang neurology (analisis tentang syaraf) dengan menggunakan kata-kata yang ‘lebih ringan’ dan menyertakan contoh-contoh untuk mempermudah para pembaca memahaminya.

4. Bargain All The Way

A short history of nearly everything  - Bill Bryson

A Short History of Nearly Everything – Bill Bryson

A short history of nearly everything by Bill Bryson.
I bought this book only IDR 25,000 from the real price around IDR 160,000. Yummy!

5. (Not So) Fresh From the Oven

Inferno - Dan Brown

Inferno – Dan Brown

‘Inferno’ by Dan Brown
From my lovely-molly guy friend as my 23rd birthday’s gift, plus it just released last year.

6. First Letter’s Rule

Pengakuan Pariyem - Linus Suryadi

Pengakuan Pariyem – Linus Suryadi

Linus Suryadi with ‘Pengakuan Pariyem’
Dunia Batin seorang Wanita Jawa, menarik. Saya juga jawa, walau cuma tertera di CV saja.

7. Once Upon a Time

The Trial - Franz Kafka

The Trial – Franz Kafka

The Trial by Kafka.
It really classic book. I have red the “Methamorphosis” and fell in love with it.

8. Chunky Brick

Middlemarch - George Elliot

Middlemarch – George Elliot

Middlemarch’ by George Elliot.
More than 700 pages, and my Mom said “Is it a book or a brick?”.

9.  Favorite Author

Jangan Main-Main (dengan Kelaminmu) - Djenar Maesa Ayu

Jangan Main-Main (dengan Kelaminmu) – Djenar Maesa Ayu

‘Jangan Main-Main (dengan Kelaminmu)’ by Djenar Maesa Ayu.
Mainin aja, biar asik!

10. It’s Been There Forever:

The Hunt for Atlantis - Andi McDermott

The Hunt for Atlantis – Andi McDermott

‘The Hunt for Atlantis’ by Andi McDermott.
Piled up in my back-row of my bookshelves since 2011. Doesn’t mean that I don’t love it, but I shared too much love to others.

11. Movies vs Books:

Ronggeng Dukuh Paruk - Ahmad Tohari

Ronggeng Dukuh Paruk – Ahmad Tohari

‘Ronggeng Dukuh Paruk’ by Ahmad Tohari.
I planned to watch the movie (Sang Penari) after red the novel. May I?

12. Freebies Time

A Sheep's Song - Kato Shuichi

A Sheep’s Song – Kato Shuichi

‘A Sheep’s Song’ by Kato Shuichi

It’s not a gift. From my genius brother as form of reconciliation after he recommended me to buy the old book in a store, but it took twice prices than the brand new one. Hahaha!

13. Not My Cup of Tea

 Belenggu - Armijn Pane (1940)

Belenggu – Armijn Pane (1940)

‘Belenggu’ by Amryn Pane

Sastra lama Indonesia tentang kemelut cinta. Romance is not my tea, but sastra does. Jadi perkawinan antara keduanya boleh juga dicoba. Biar tehnya tidak terlalu pahit.

14. Walking Down The Memory Lane

Sentaro - Tsubasa Nunoura

Sentaro – Tsubasa Nunoura

Sentaro‘ by Tsubasa Nunoura.
I bought almost 33 series of these comics, and it is not finish yet. Sentaro, dug dug dug.

So, there are several read-to-be list for 2014. I really mean to challenge myself to continue read meanwhile join challenge like this.
Jika kamu juga memiliki kecintaan untuk membaca dan menulis, ikuti challenge ini. Nggak rugi, karena ilmunya ke kamu, kesenangan juga di kamu!

Simply click this link to see how the challenge work. Good luck!

3 thoughts on “Lucky No. 14 Reading Challenge

    • Iya, hihihi..
      Pas acara Book Fair bulan november ini di Periplus stan.
      Bukunya emang rada-rada nyelip dan robek dikit disampulnya. tp harganya cuma seperempat dari harga aslinya..
      Thanks for doing this challenge :*

  1. Pingback: Pengakuan Pariyem : Dunia Batin Seorang Wanita Jawa (1981) | Legi, Intellexi, et Condemnavi

Leave a comment